The U.S. North American Bird Conservation Initiative (NABCI) Committee and the Association of Joint Venture Management Board (AJVMB) want to recognize individuals or groups who have shown exceptional accomplishments and/or leadership in bird conservation in furtherance of the principles of the North American Bird Conservation Initiative and other national or international bird conservation initiatives.

Nominations for the 2018 Award are due January 8, 2018.  View the 2018 NABCI Award Guidelines.


Gary T. Myers, long-time director of the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, was a recognized champion of bird conservation that inspired a generation of conservationists. Myers led the collaborative effort to develop the Migratory Bird Joint Ventures, and he was a strong and tireless champion for the North American Wetlands Conservation Act (NAWCA).  In recognition of his role in leading this effort, he was selected by the Secretary of the Interior to be the first representative for the Mississippi Flyway on the National Flyway Council. Myers was also a staunch supporter and advocate of the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies’ partnership to generate non-federal funding for NAWCA match that is used for Canadian wetland habitat conservation.  Myers recognized that many species, not just waterfowl, benefit from wetland and upland habitat conservation, and he worked to incorporate an all-bird focus into the conservation work of the Joint Ventures.  Myers’ support and advocacy was instrumental in forming NABCI in 1999 and he served on the NABCI Committee for several years.

The US NABCI Committee and the AJVMB began presenting annual Conservation Awards in 2007, but in 2010, upon Myers’ retirement, this honor was renamed the Gary T. Myers Award to recognize other leaders in bird conservation who share Gary’s passion, dedication, and commitment to bird conservation, and who have worked to help fulfill his vision of integrated bird conservation delivered through Joint Ventures.

Previous Recipients

Steve Wendt
Humberto Berlanga
MO Bird Conservation Initiative
Gwen Brewer
Wild at Heart
Utah’s Linking Communities
Tricia Kelly
Kirk Nelson
Charles Baxter
Gary Myers
Deb Hahn
Carroll Henderson
Ken Babcock
NC Sandhills Partnership
Wayne MacCallum
Dave Smith
Catherine Hickey
EJ Williams